Do I Qualify?

Emotional support animal letter housing

An emotional support animal is a type of assistance animal that is recognized as a “reasonable accommodation” for a person with a disability under the federal Fair Housing Act.

An emotional support animal is not a pet. An emotional support animal is a companion animal that provides therapeutic benefit to an individual with a mental or psychiatric disability. The person seeking the emotional support animal must have a verifiable disability (the reason cannot just be a need for companionship).

To qualify, an individual

  1. Must have a “disability and disability-related need for an assistance animal.”
  2. HUD defines a disability as a “major impact on a life activity,” commonly referred to as a functional limitation.
  3. The four most common disabilities are sleep, concentration, focus, and social interaction.
  4. Individual’s animal (ESADoggy only considers dogs and cats) must help ameliorate the disability.

In summary, significant impacts on major life activities (sleep, concentration, focus, social interaction) are deemed disabilities. If an animal helps mitigate those symptoms (sleep better, etc.), if the animal is necessary for treatment, then an individual can be recommended for an assistance animal.

Please note: each assistance animal must help address a different functional limitation. Each assistance animal must be necessary for the treatment of a disability.

Emotional support animal letter travel

An emotional support animal provides comfort to support a customer’s diagnosed mental or emotional disorder. Emotional support animals need not have specific training for that function. All must be trained to behave appropriately in a public setting. Acceptable ESADoggy emotional support animals are limited to dogs and cats. Your animal must behave appropriately in a public environment.

If you're 10# Chihuahua acts like Cujo, runs around the airport on attack mode -- aka, has a terrible demeanor -- the "best ESA letter in the world" won't matter.

To qualify, an individual

  • Must have a mental health-related disability recognized in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders-Fourth Edition (DSM IV)
  • Need the emotional support or psychiatric service animal as an accommodation for air travel and activity at your destination